Community

Asthma Didn’t Stop Me


In high school, I went for a daily bike ride with my parents after dinner. We went down the same beaten path and the weather was perfect. I mad it about half of the way when all of a sudden I felt like I couldn’t breathe and I felt light headed. Next thing I know, I am on the ground on the side of the road. So I went to the doctor within the next couple of days and took multiple breathing tests and everything checked out great. They did a couple tests on my heart, even a stress test, and once again everything checked out great. They figured it could be just exercise induced asthma and gave me an inhaler-what do you know, it was definitely that as the next time I went for a run, I felt like I couldn’t breathe again or go as long as I normally could, took my inhaler, and was able to finally go the distance I know my body could handle. 


Fast forward to today, I have always had it on my bucket list to run more than just a 5k. I’ve done 3-4 5k’s in my past but I know I could go farther with more training. One 3am night, I had this urge and just signed up for a 10k and half marathon that is taking place in Mount Pleasant. The next couple days I asked myself why I thought that was a good idea and considered not doing it. But I knew I had to do this for my health and to finally cross it off my bucketlist. 


After a month of training, on February 19th, 2017 I ran the IceCube 10k & got 1st place for my age group/division at 67 minutes. Honestly it felt like hell but I am really proud to say my asthma couldn’t stop me from finishing the race and at my fastest time ever. Yes I had to stop multiple times to walk and catch my breath but with the help from Christina Aguilera singing Fighter, I finished the race and that’s all that matters. 

Leave a Reply

